online edition

The Student Newspaper of Hopkins School

    • Once in a Lifetime premiered in Townshend Auditorium on April 26 and closed on April 28. It was the last HDA show of the season.

Once in a Lifetime Hits the Stage

Leah Miller ’20 Assistant Arts Editor
The Hopkins Drama Association (HDA) was back at it again with their triumphant spring production of Once in a Lifetime, on April 26 to 28.
Once in a Lifetime is a story originally crafted by the famous George S. Kaufman in the 1930’s of three wannabe Vaudeville actors trying to “make it big” in the emerging film industry. As their act continues to decline in viewership, May Daniels (Unique Parker ’18), George Lewis (Andrew Treat ’18), and Jerry Hyland (Colin Flaumenhauft ’18) decide to leave their acting days behind and open an elocution and voice culture school to train actors to speak in “talkies,” movies that were trumping silent films as they began to include talking actors. This show, directed by Michael Calderone, included one of the largest casts the HDA has ever seen, made up of over 50 students, with roughly fifteen students working on the technical aspects of the show. Nate Stratton ’19  described the experience:  “HDA has got a great combination of new people as well as the great chemistry and seasoned talent from our seniors.” Once in a Lifetime was HDA’s fourth and final major show of the year, and was widely delighted in by the entire cast. Griffin Congdon ’20 said, “Once in a Lifetime is an interesting combination of hectic excitement with refined humor, making it a fun show for everyone!”
Editor in Chief 
Theodore Tellides

Managing Editor 
Katie Broun

Sarah Roberts
JR Stauff
Zoe Kim
Julia Kosinski
Connor Pignatello
Izzy Lopez-Kalapir
Lily Meyers
Veronica Yarovinsky

Ellie Doolittle
Katherine Takoudes
Leah Miller
Connor Hartigan
Saloni Jain
Simon Bazelon

Audrey Braun
Alex Hughes
Teddy Glover
Anushree Vashist
Sara Chung
Saira Munshani
George Kosinski

Olivia Capasso
Elena Savas
Noah Schmeisser
Ziggy Gleason
Casey Gleason
Melody Parker
Arthur Masiukiwicz

Nina Barandiaran
Arushi Srivastava

Business Managers
Caitlyn Chow
Sophia Fitzsimonds

Faculty Advisers
Elizabeth Gleason
Jennifer Nicolelli
Sorrel Westbrook
The Razor's Edge reflects the opinion of 4/5 of the editorial board and will not be signed. The Razor welcomes letters to the editor but reserves the right to decide which letters to publish, and to edit letters for space reasons. Unsigned letters will not be published, but names may be withheld on request. Letters are subject to the same libel laws as articles. The views expressed in letters are not necessarily those of the editorial board.
The Razor,
 an open forum publication, is published monthly during the school year by students of: 
Hopkins School
986 Forest Road
New Haven, CT 06515

Phone: 203.397.1001 x271