online edition

The Student Newspaper of Hopkins School

    • Sam Jenkins ’19 was elected Student Council President on April 10

Sam Jenkins Elected StuCo President

Zoe Kim '20 Assistant News Editor
With only a couple months left of the school year, the Hopkins community has chosen Sam Jenkins ‘19 as its new Student Council President.
Jenkins has been an active member at school, including being a part of concert choir, the Hopkins Harmonaires and being on StuCo for three years, he also held the title of Class President during his Sophomore Year.

Jenkins says that he hopes to make the 2018-19 school year “the best it could be” by encouraging more schoolwide participation with committees and planning events. He plans to install a new committee system in which participation is open to the whole school. With students being able to plan their own events with their friends, Jenkins says he aims to raise the enthusiasm for these class events.

With the Hopkins schedule already busy for the next year, Jenkins says that he is “focused more on improving things, rather than adding more to Hopkins’ already busy schedule.” This includes the annual Canned Food Drive fundraising week. As he stated in his presidential speech, Jenkins wishes to mix up the fall fundraising season by creating a Team Fundraising Weekend.

With this, varsity, junior varsity, intramurals and the drama department can fundraise with their friends, thus allowing fundraising between grades and promoting a little “healthy competition.”

With three years of StuCo already on his back, as well as working closely with the previous presidents, Jenkins says that he feels well prepared for the upcoming year and is excited to start his first meeting.
Editor in Chief 
Theodore Tellides

Managing Editor 
Katie Broun

Sarah Roberts
JR Stauff
Zoe Kim
Julia Kosinski
Connor Pignatello
Izzy Lopez-Kalapir
Lily Meyers
Veronica Yarovinsky

Ellie Doolittle
Katherine Takoudes
Leah Miller
Connor Hartigan
Saloni Jain
Simon Bazelon

Audrey Braun
Alex Hughes
Teddy Glover
Anushree Vashist
Sara Chung
Saira Munshani
George Kosinski

Olivia Capasso
Elena Savas
Noah Schmeisser
Ziggy Gleason
Casey Gleason
Melody Parker
Arthur Masiukiwicz

Nina Barandiaran
Arushi Srivastava

Business Managers
Caitlyn Chow
Sophia Fitzsimonds

Faculty Advisers
Elizabeth Gleason
Jennifer Nicolelli
Sorrel Westbrook
The Razor's Edge reflects the opinion of 4/5 of the editorial board and will not be signed. The Razor welcomes letters to the editor but reserves the right to decide which letters to publish, and to edit letters for space reasons. Unsigned letters will not be published, but names may be withheld on request. Letters are subject to the same libel laws as articles. The views expressed in letters are not necessarily those of the editorial board.
The Razor,
 an open forum publication, is published monthly during the school year by students of: 
Hopkins School
986 Forest Road
New Haven, CT 06515

Phone: 203.397.1001 x271