online edition

The Student Newspaper of Hopkins School

    • In the photo above, Lily Meyers ’20, Kieran Anderson ’18, Owen Rahr ’18, Kenny Lu ’19, and Katie Broun ’19 (L-R), represent Hopkins at CMEA regionals as members of the mixed choir.

Musicians Attend CMEA Regional Festival

Katherine Takoudes ’20 Assistant Arts Editor
On Saturday, January 13, twenty-eight Hopkins instrumentalists and vocalists participated in this year’s Connecticut Music Educators Association (CMEA) Southern Regional Festival.
This is the largest group that Hopkins has ever sent to Regionals. High-school musicians prepared a piece selected by CMEA, auditioned in November 2017, and were chosen to participate in a two-day festival and concert in January 2018. At the concert, the twenty-eight Hilltoppers represented the Hopkins music program in the treble choir, mixed choir, band, and orchestra.

The festival showcased the cumulative work of high-school musicians all over southern Connecticut. “I performed in the treble choir and I really enjoyed it,” said Lucy Panagos ’20. “Everyone was very focused, determined, and welcoming.” Cellist and member of the orchestra Kyle Shin ’20 agreed: “Although practicing for over seven hours together was hard work, it was worth it to put on a great performance.” Katie Broun ’19 said, “One of the best parts of regionals this year was meeting other students from all of southern Connecticut who also love to sing. As a member of the mixed choir, I loved creating a beautiful sound with such interesting and lively people I had only met hours before.”
Editor in Chief 
Theodore Tellides

Managing Editor 
Katie Broun

Sarah Roberts
JR Stauff
Zoe Kim
Julia Kosinski
Connor Pignatello
Izzy Lopez-Kalapir
Lily Meyers
Veronica Yarovinsky

Ellie Doolittle
Katherine Takoudes
Leah Miller
Connor Hartigan
Saloni Jain
Simon Bazelon

Audrey Braun
Alex Hughes
Teddy Glover
Anushree Vashist
Sara Chung
Saira Munshani
George Kosinski

Olivia Capasso
Elena Savas
Noah Schmeisser
Ziggy Gleason
Casey Gleason
Melody Parker
Arthur Masiukiwicz

Nina Barandiaran
Arushi Srivastava

Business Managers
Caitlyn Chow
Sophia Fitzsimonds

Faculty Advisers
Elizabeth Gleason
Jennifer Nicolelli
Sorrel Westbrook
The Razor's Edge reflects the opinion of 4/5 of the editorial board and will not be signed. The Razor welcomes letters to the editor but reserves the right to decide which letters to publish, and to edit letters for space reasons. Unsigned letters will not be published, but names may be withheld on request. Letters are subject to the same libel laws as articles. The views expressed in letters are not necessarily those of the editorial board.
The Razor,
 an open forum publication, is published monthly during the school year by students of: 
Hopkins School
986 Forest Road
New Haven, CT 06515

Phone: 203.397.1001 x271