online edition

The Student Newspaper of Hopkins School

HDA To Go To Scotland

Olivia Capasso '19, Assistant Features Editor
This August, students from the Hopkins Drama Program will be attending the Edinburgh Festival Fringe in Scotland, the world’s largest theater festival held every year for schools all over the globe.
Organized by Drama teachers Hope Hartup and Michael Calderone, students will be performing Shakespeare on a Shoestring: Cymbeline!

Hopkins Drama Association first made the trip to Scotland in 2012, where nine students performed a series of acts titled Hamlet and Other Theatrical Nightmares.  This year, sixteen students will be joining Calderone and Hartup, who hope to offer the trip every other year for students in the future.

Stemming from his own first-hand experience as a performer at theatre festivals, Calderone has wanted to offer the same trip to his drama students for the past fifteen years.  “I first went to the Edinburgh Fringe as an undergraduate where I performed with the original Shoestring Players” he said. “That first tour had such an impact on my life and career that I wanted to share it with my students.”

Aside from their extensive performance schedule, the students will also have the opportunity to go on many fun outings, such as visiting Holy-rood Palace, the royal residence of Queen Elizabeth II, and watching plenty of performances in an arena adjacent to Edinburgh castle.  The group will also be exploring aspects of the city which so heavily influenced the creation of J.K. Rowling’s award-winning Harry Potter series.  “We will be taking the Potter Trail walking tour, see the cafes where Rowling wrote the books, the private school she based Hogwarts on, and the real-life Diagon Alley!” said Calderone.

Calderone and Hartup hope this trip to Scotland validates the art form of theatre for their students and helps them recognize that theater is not simply what someone does in their off time.
Editor in Chief 
Theodore Tellides

Managing Editor 
Katie Broun

Sarah Roberts
JR Stauff
Zoe Kim
Julia Kosinski
Connor Pignatello
Izzy Lopez-Kalapir
Lily Meyers
Veronica Yarovinsky

Ellie Doolittle
Katherine Takoudes
Leah Miller
Connor Hartigan
Saloni Jain
Simon Bazelon

Audrey Braun
Alex Hughes
Teddy Glover
Anushree Vashist
Sara Chung
Saira Munshani
George Kosinski

Olivia Capasso
Elena Savas
Noah Schmeisser
Ziggy Gleason
Casey Gleason
Melody Parker
Arthur Masiukiwicz

Nina Barandiaran
Arushi Srivastava

Business Managers
Caitlyn Chow
Sophia Fitzsimonds

Faculty Advisers
Elizabeth Gleason
Jennifer Nicolelli
Sorrel Westbrook
The Razor's Edge reflects the opinion of 4/5 of the editorial board and will not be signed. The Razor welcomes letters to the editor but reserves the right to decide which letters to publish, and to edit letters for space reasons. Unsigned letters will not be published, but names may be withheld on request. Letters are subject to the same libel laws as articles. The views expressed in letters are not necessarily those of the editorial board.
The Razor,
 an open forum publication, is published monthly during the school year by students of: 
Hopkins School
986 Forest Road
New Haven, CT 06515

Phone: 203.397.1001 x271