online edition

The Student Newspaper of Hopkins School

2019-2020 Hopkins Sports Wrap Up

Compiled by Sophia Zhao
The summary of all the sports played during Hopkins 2019-2020.
2019-2020 Hopkins Sports Wrap Up

Fall Sports 
Captains: Phil DeLise, Gunnar DeSantis, Mike Lau, Brandon Smith 
-MIFL Freedom Division Champions
-MIFL Finalists 
 Record:  5-3 

Field Hockey
Captains:  Courtney Banks, Amanda Leone
-FAA Quarterfinalists
Record:  4-11

Girls Soccer
Captains: Lilly Fagan, Sophia Fitzsimonds, Zoe Kim, Anna Simon
-FAA Semifinalists
-NEPSAC Class B Quarterfinalists
Record:  11-6-1  
Boys Soccer
Captains:  Kiernan Barket, Luca Richo, Avi Shein
-FAA Regular Season Champions
-FAA Tournament Champions (3rd consecutive year)
Record:  9-7-1

Girls Cross Country
Captains:  Elena Brennan, Katherine Takoudes
-FAA Championship Race Winners
-3rd Place, Canterbury Invitational
-5th Place, NEPSTA Championship Race
Record:  19-2

Boys Cross Country
Captains:  Nathan Ahn, Nicolas Burtson
-15-0 Undefeated Record
-FAA Championship Race Winners
-4th Place, NEPSTA Championship Race
Record:  15-0
Water Polo
Captains: Julius Herzog, Will Randazzo, Alex Schott
Record:  5-10

Captains:  Casey Goldberg, Ally Wang
-FAA Regular Season Champions
-FAA Tournament Champions
-NEPSAC Class A Tournament Finalists
Record:  19-2

Winter Sports 
Boys Basketball
Captains: Cameron Delcristo, Michael Lau, Collin Gernhardt 
Record: 10-11

Girls Basketball
Captains: Charlotte Yin, Casey Dies
-FAA Quarterfinalists
Record: 8-11

Boys Squash
Captain: Burton Lyng-Olsen
-FAA Finalists
-US Head High School Team Squash Division II Champions
Record: 14-8

Girls Squash
Captain: Chloe Sokol
Record: 13-8

Boys Swimming and Diving
Captains: Deniz Tek, William Zhu
Record: 6-6

Girls Swimming and Diving
Captains: Veronica Yarovinsky, Rita Roberts
Record: 8-7

Boys Fencing
Record: 4-6

Girls Fencing
Captains: Lizabeth Bamgboye, Sophia Nuterangelo
Record: 8-2

Indoor Track
Captains: George Wang, Jake Wang, Yasmin Bergemann, Julia Tellides

Ski Racing
Captains: Katherin Takoudes, Alex Weissman
Record: 25-24-1

Captains: Gunner Desantis, Brandon Smith
Record: 16-2
Editor in Chief 
Julia Kosinski

Managing Editor 
Teddy Glover 

Anushree Vashist
Anjali Subramanian
Aanya Panyadahundi
Melody Cui
Sophie Sonnenfeld
Emmett Dowd
Vivian Wang
Evangeline Doolittle
Zach Williamson
Craigin Maloney
Anand Choudhary

Abby Regan
Riley Foushee
Sophia Neilson

Maeve Stauff
Kallie Schmeisser
Tanner Lee
Sophia Zhao
Juan Lopez

Emmett Dowd
Jon Schoelkopf

Nick Hughes

Business Manager
Sophia Cerroni
Luca Vujovic

Faculty Advisers
Jenny Nicolelli
Elizabeth Gleason
Rebecca Marcus
The Razor's Edge reflects the opinion of 4/5 of the editorial board and will not be signed. The Razor welcomes letters to the editor but reserves the right to decide which letters to publish, and to edit letters for space reasons. Unsigned letters will not be published, but names may be withheld on request. Letters are subject to the same libel laws as articles. The views expressed in letters are not necessarily those of the editorial board.
The Razor,
 an open forum publication, is published monthly during the school year by students of: 
Hopkins School
986 Forest Road
New Haven, CT 06515

Phone: 203.397.1001 x271